suse 10 installation

20060213, 07

The partions of a computer require careful consideration prior to install. Years of hacking have not prepared me for the ego-deflation–and frustration–of installing SUSE 10 on my HP Athlon AMD-K7 554MHz w/ 256MB of memory and the loudest fans. ever. Partitions and multi-boot systems and articles like “All About Linux“, a “Linux Partition HOWTO” (using fdisk utility), and nearly a half-dozen more sites, and three locked-up installations, and three hours later? I am marginally closer to having completed the careful consideration. I am also back to my trusty Knoppix 4.0.2 livecd which has me up and running with all components recognized in just under 3.5 minutes. That includes the sound card (Aureal Semiconductor Vortex 2), which I have never, ever, gotten to work before, starting with Red Hat 8 (can’t remember what kernel that was).

So, me and Jimi Hendrix (now playing on my HK 195s) postulate that knoppix 4.0.2 is the way to get from 0 t linux in the least amount of time. word.

Leave a Reply

